I finally posted at Rim's forum.
    peter9477 likes this.
    01-07-12 12:20 AM
    I finally posted at Rim's forum.
    Do you mind posting the link to that thread here?
    01-07-12 12:01 PM
    01-07-12 12:21 PM
    I have the map of Canada, which I thought was a map of the whole Canada including cities (esp. at the $10 price), but it does not appear to be since when taken offline it can only zoom in so much before it has no more tiles.
    01-07-12 05:40 PM
    Ok.. so I'm new to Blackberry products and I don't have a bb phone.

Got the 32GB Playbook and today I had the chance to back up my PB since buying it on Boxing Day at London Drugs.

My experience is as follows:

I have Playbook OS 1.0.8.6067 and installed Blackberry Desktop software Version 6.1.0.36.

Full backup didn't work the first time. Actually I didn't bother after it said that there was an "error" (sorry I don't remember exactly what it said).

Tried a second time by disconnecting the USB cable...and again...same error message.

Next, I shut down the Blackberry Desktop and restarted it again. Plugged it in and did something different.

Since I hadn't backed up nor sync'd the PB, I chose to Sync first.

Did something and sync'd but didn't really see any files.

Then I tried backing up select parts of PB, starting with the smallest part of Playbook. For me, it was Settings, then Media, and then App Data.

Settings (1.3MB) backed up...media (60.3MB) worked thereafter, and then App Data (1.55GB)...which took much longer due to the size.

I have only free apps on my PB and no video/movies other than the demo that came with it. I do have a few camera pictures but that is it.

My partner has movies on his PB but also could not back up. He's removing it from the PB to see if his first backup will work.

My thoughts is that:

1) you should back up upon first buying the PB (of course, RIM should have provided a user manual as not everyone knows what to do first, especially older people).