As I'm new to the Blackberrysphere, here's something that I'm not quite clear on.

I see posts about BB 10 that say it will come to the PB - but all the talk is about OS 2.1 for the Playbook.

Will the version jump from 2.1 to 10 ? - or have I misunderstood the relationship between OS2.1 and BB10

TIA
    BlackStormRising likes this.
    09-21-12 02:14 AM
    The current version is 2.0

There is a beta available of 2.1 which most people say is stable and ready for release (I've been running it for a while without a hitch)

As far as we know BB10 will be the next release, whether they make 2.1 official beforehand is anyone's guess. If you don't want to wait I'd suggest heading over to https://developer.blackberry.com/register/ and putting in your pin, that signs you up for the beta and you can run 2.1 straight away
    09-21-12 02:19 AM
    I'm not in a rush to upgrade just trying to understand

To put it another way, will BB10 be "Playbook 3.0" ?
    09-21-12 03:14 AM
    Just to add to your surprise, BB10 is very different from the PB OS. They are both OS's, and that's where the comparison ends. Have you ever seen that US show where they help a family because their house is a mesh. In that show they take down the old house and build a new house in its place. That's how the OS's compare. Just search for leaked movies and you'll see. I saw it live too and it is amazing. Agonizing wait....
    09-21-12 03:19 AM
    I always tought the BB10 was the PB OS but with other name the videos shows the same OS on youtube.
    Thank you Have_a_nice_day
    09-21-12 03:40 AM
    I'm not in a rush to upgrade just trying to understand

To put it another way, will BB10 be "Playbook 3.0" ?

BB10 will be the OS for the PlayBook & the phones. They can't go OS 3.0 because the phones have "been there, done that".
    09-21-12 04:39 AM