So I've seen some posts regarding the lack of (quality) apps in Playbook's App World catalog. Aside from the fact that App World itself feels like a beta product (flooded with crappy single book apps and just has an unfinished "feel" to it), I believe there is one major reason for the lack of any developer commitment: RIM telling the world back in March that the Android Player was coming to the Playbook.

I want to see if y'all agree. My reasoning is the following: As a developer I was actually looking to create some apps for the Playbook because, well, there's a larger incentive to create an app for the Playbook than for iOS which already has 100,000+ apps. But upon hearing that Android was coming to the Playbook, with its huge number of apps, I no longer have any incentive to create my app. This is in addition to the fact that I have zero desire to program in Flash and WebWorks will never have all the capabilities of a native Java app on Android.

In conclusion, the RIM CEOs need to think twice before (over-)promising features. Thoughts?
    10-10-11 08:35 AM
    Few thoughts...

a) you can always blame CEOs for any problems a company has (everything is the responsibility of the guy/guys at the top right? so of course you're right there