Hey all.

So I think we have one last shot for BB10 on the PlayBook.

I'm not a developer, so I don't follow the details of dev OS and SDK releases too closely, but so far we get new device support added in the point releases of BB10.

1) Around Dec/Jan: BB 10.0 gold SDK and a stripped-down BB 10.0 dev OS were released with support for Z10 only. (The dev OS ran on Dev Alpha A/B if I recall.)

2) Around March/April: BB 10.1 gold SDK and a stripped-down BB 10.1 dev OS were released with support for Z10 and Q10. (The dev OS ran on Z10 and Dev Alpha C.)

So given the fact BB10 apps will need some changes to run on PlayBook BB10 and that the 10.2 SDK beta is due in June, my guess is that:

3) In June: BB 10.2 beta SDK and a stripped-down BB 10.2 dev OS will be released with support for Z10, Q10 (and Q5), and PlayBook. Even if we don't get a dev OS in June, we'd hopefully see some signs in the SDK re: PlayBook support.

What got me thinking that this was the case was the BB Mexican Twitter post talking about a PlayBook OS release in a few weeks:

http://forums.crackberry.com/news-ru...-weeks-809787/

That would line up nicely with a June 10.2 SDK release, but it'd be pretty easy for a social-media flack at BB to get confused about the difference between a dev OS and real-OS BB10 release for PlayBook.

Anyway, I think people expecting something tangible for BB10 PlayBook at BB Live weren't really thinking too clearly. BB10 for PlayBook will most likely show up first in an SDK release, so I think the June 10.2 beta SDK will either bring either really good news or silence (which will be very ominous) on the PlayBook BB10 front.
    05-21-13 03:46 PM
    I hope you're right.
    MasterOfBinary likes this.
    05-21-13 03:53 PM
    That Mexican tweet was deleted and the poster is probably looking for a new job now.

Until a definite announcement comes straight from the donkey's mouth a.k.a. Thorsten Heins, then I'll keep thinking BB10 for PlayBook is a pipe dream.