Hey guys,

This is my first time being on this forum. I used to run Blackberry phones, but had to switch after my phone broke, and my girlfriend gave me her iPhone. Anyway, I'm looking to get back into the whole RIM area, and with the price drops in Canada for the 32 GB Playbook, it's pretty enticing.

What I'm curious about, as this would also be my first tablet, is if the Playbook can actually be used to get things done, as well as used for entertainment? I'm a university student, and would love to integrate this tablet into my daily routine. I don't care much about a plethora of useless apps (Skype and Netflix would be nice, but with BB10, i'm sure we'll see something), but I'd like to know if the current selection makes the tablet worth it's weight?

Also, I'm curious what everyone thinks about RIM's status in the economy? Mainly, I'm wondering if this thing will become a brick in the next couple years and be a sunk cost, due to software not working properly, or RIM not *actually* integrating BB10 onto the PB. Or rather, if RIM will go belly-up and we'll be stuck with an unusable device.

Thanks in advance, and I look forward to seeing what you guys have to say.
    10-19-12 04:25 AM
    Hey,