Feel kind of let down considering the new sale priced 64gb playbook said on the box it was created and made 17/6/2011 which was 1year and 3months ago. Should I replace as I'v seen on the forums people getting brand new 12 plate models with os 2 pre installed?
    09-07-12 10:51 AM
    I wouldn't mind if it's factory sealed. Give it a shot, upgrade the OS and start fresh.

I've been using my PB for almost 9 months now.
    09-07-12 10:54 AM
    Feel kind of let down considering the new sale priced 64gb playbook said on the box it was created and made 17/6/2011 which was 1year and 3months ago. Should I replace as I'v seen on the forums people getting brand new 12 plate models with os 2 pre installed?
    It doesn't matter as long as the box is not opened or refurbished. All PlayBooks have the same hardware except the 4G model. Just turn on the PB and upgrade the OS and you will be fine.
    09-07-12 10:57 AM
    thecsman is right. Most (if not all) devices are that "old". Being factory sealed or second hand is the thing you should be concerned about.
    09-07-12 10:58 AM
    If its new & all good, keep & update it.
    09-07-12 11:12 AM
    The only thing to worry about is:

- glue keeping screen protective film on may be a bit gummy, but can clean up nice

- power-button may be old "recessed" type

- battery may be a bit stale but if has never gone through any power cycles I do not think it will make any difference

- older production runs that have defects that may have been caught and fixed meantime, like wall charger issues

Just have your warranty ready and if any problems just change it.

I have an "old" playbook, bought in November 2011 during the fire sale. Has been perfect so far except for warped back due to heating "spin the Playbook", but other than a cosmetic issue, I would not worry!
    My wife's Playbook from May 2012 this year has an almost unnoticeable dead pixel and I do not want to exchange it because it is not worth the trouble.