So i got this Playbook from my sister for my birthday. Its been completely dead, and she lost the charger. i cant go out and get a charger from the stores as they dont sell any and i cant order online at the moment.

I was wondering if i could wire an old PSP charger running 2A/5v through a usb to power the Playbook? and how would i do that?

via BlackBerry 9300
    04-06-13 05:15 AM
    I'm not an electronics expert but if you can match the specs for the pb's original adapter you should be safe, although I don't know if there's any special signals that control charging.

You might be able to find the rapid chargers.

Access to online stores would probably help.

Good luck (and this reply will bump this thread so someone may have other ideas)
    04-06-13 09:03 AM
    Any USB charger with a micro-USB connector should charge the PlayBook, so long as it has at least a 1.8A capability. The PlayBook has within its innards the limits and process control to charge the battery correctly.

And, given that this PlayBook is dead, I don't doubt that it will need to be "stack-charged" to bring it up to the point where it will permit these circuits to function. Search CrackBerry for the process. You'll need some patience to get to the point where you don't need to supervise the charge.

Finding a BlackBerry Rapid charger shouldn't be that difficult to do, however.
    04-06-13 10:18 AM
    The thing I forgot to mention, the ac adapter that Rim/bbry sells as a rapid charger for their BBPHONES is the standard charger for the pb. So, stores might actually stock that charger calling it a phone rapid charger.
    bambinoitaliano likes this.
    04-06-13 11:00 AM