I'm a photographer and recently returned from shooting a wedding in Barbados and wanted to share my dismal PlayBook experience with you all. I'm an iOS user primarily but I when OS2 was finally released, I decided to purchase a PlayBook. I have to say that up until now, my experience with the PlayBook has been pretty much exceptional. There are a few issues / bugs to iron out in OS2, but overall, I love(d) my PlayBook. So, here's what happened.

I loaded up the PlayBook with a bunch of video for the flight (RIM; please, please, please add an AC3 audio codec to your video player and the ability to resume where you left off!) and was off to the airport. WiFi has generally worked well since I've owned the PlayBook and the airport was no exception. Connected up to the free hotspot and was happily checking my email and reading my news in the News app. Perfect!

Got on the plane, Airplane mode on, kicked back and watched some shows during the flight. Again, perfect!

Got to the resort where we were staying, turned off Airplane mode and attempted to connect to their WiFi and here is where everything fell apart...

The PlayBook was able to see all of the resort's base stations without issue but was not able to connect to any of them. Hmmm... Strange... Then pulled out my iPhone and my iPad and connected without issue with both of them. My MacBook Pro connected without issue. My wife's iPhone and her MacBook Pro connected without issue. So, essentially every other wireless device we had with us, worked as normal and connected to the resort's WiFi perfectly. PlayBook? Not so much.

And then things get really strange...