Ok, I expect there is an answer on this forum somewhere but I can't find it and to be honest there are so many variantions of help questions, and so may answers (many that go back up to two years and may now be out of date) , that it gets confusing. I'm sorry if this goes over old ground, but I am not a techie and never download leaks or other stuff like that which might mess with the device. So...

I am in the UK. I have a had a 64Gb PlayBook (currently on the official OS 2.1.0.1753) for nearly a year and it has never given any problem, until now. I inadvertently let it run down to almost zero battery power (I can't remember exactly , maybe 5-7% but the red warning was showing). It was not completely dead, just very low.

As both my PB chargers were elsewhere I charged it overnight using my Z10 wall plug-in charger. In the morning I was surprised to see that the battery had only charged as far as 65%. I took it to work and put it on my PB pedestal charger but noticed that although the lightning symbol was showing it didn't appear to be charging any further. Two days later that remains the case, it just won't accept a charge even with the wall plug with yellow USB plug. Being connecteed to a charger seems to stop it discharging, but it won't charge up. If I disconnect and use the PB (it works normally) , the charge goes down normally and I have now lost 17% of my charge compared to when I first noticed the problem,, down from 65% to 48%.

At first I suspected the chargers but they work fine with my other Playbook (a 16 Gb) and my Z10 phone.

My 64Gb is now at 48% and I fear that if I let it run down to 10% or less by using it I am going to be in trouble. Somehow the OS seems to have decided to stop charging and I need to trigger it back into action while there is still decent battery power.

How can I do this? Will a complete OS re-install do it? If so, can someone explain (as simply as possible!) how to do it please?

Thank you, any help will be much appreciated.