An ultrabook with good battery life is the best choice for a university student. It is the most capable, most convenient, and most productive option by far.

With any tablet, regardless of OS, you would have a LOT of compromises and you would have to settle for a LOT of workarounds.
    10-31-12 01:57 PM
    I'm in second year engineering. As of yet I have not had to write any extensive papers/essays, or make any presentations. The only thing I can not do on my PlayBook is computer programming and matlab. If you really don't want a laptop it could be done because, as has been said, there are many computers on campus with the programs installed. I have all my textbooks and pdf notes on my PlayBook and to take notes I have my files synced to Skydrive or use Splashtop. I play varsity soccer so for all the long bus rides or free time at other universities, I have everything I need accessible in a 7" form and get a lot done while others avoid bringing work or complain about how heavy their bag is haha

It works for me. I prefer to have a laptop for regular usage but I could easily do without. To each his own.
    10-31-12 02:04 PM
    I suggest you to get windows 8 surface, which is really a portable pc, and has more apps than playbook
    10-31-12 02:17 PM
    I'm in second year engineering. As of yet I have not had to write any extensive papers/essays, or make any presentations. The only thing I can not do on my PlayBook is computer programming and matlab.
    Have you not had to do lab reports yet? Is there a good equation editor on the PlayBook?

That, and simple collaboration with working teams, would make me shy away from a tablet only solution at this point. Paired with a laptop it might offer extra utility, but if I only had one device it would absolutely be a laptop over any tablet.
    10-31-12 03:00 PM