Hi I am new to these forums.

I am a student at university and I've been looking for a tablet to hold pdf files of textbooks and handouts related to my course. I bought a blackberry playbook brand new only two days ago.. I considered the ipad but it is too expensive and I considered the kindle fire but it isn't available in the UK. So for any students that find themselves in the same position as me, read on as I am going to 'review' the performance of the playbook in handling large and illustration-laden pdf files.

ADOBE READER X (Native reader on Playbook): I have three textbooks that I'm testing. In size order they are - 114mb (1515 pages), 4mb (449 pages) and 25mb (543 pages). For starters the 4mb one and the 25 mb one didn't even open in adobe reader. [UPDATE - THERE IS A FIX FOR THIS, CLICK HERE FOR INFO] The 114mb pdf did open however, and it performed quite well. Scrolling works really well in a page, and it is quick (almost instantaneous) in rendering pages heavy with illustrations. However the lack of bookmarks means you have to know exactly what page numbers you want to read before you start scrolling through.

[UPDATE - THE LARGER FILES WORK ABSOLUTELY FINE ON ADOBE READER. I have now added a 227mb file and that opens with no problems or lag, and the scrolling is as lightning fast as it is on the smaller files. If adobe can just add a few more basic features - bookmarks, highlighting, smooth kinetic scrolling - this would be a 5* perfect pdf viewing app.]