09-20-13 10:00 AM
45 12
tools
  1. gp2002's Avatar
    OK......now what?

    I decided to go with the wipe/reload of the OS.
    I have followed the steps on the video sent to me by Carl. I got to the part where I connect the PB to my computer and hit restart. I then hit "update, repair, get update, install update".

    I have been stuck on this screen for OVER AN HOUR with nothing happening in the status bar and a solid green light on the PB.

    What should I do now?Playbook issues-img-20130920-00463.jpg
    09-19-13 01:03 PM
  2. Dave Bourque's Avatar
    Is your Internet working? Firewall not blocking anything?

    Posted via CB10
    Carl Estes likes this.
    09-19-13 01:15 PM
  3. gp2002's Avatar
    Is your Internet working? Firewall not blocking anything?

    Posted via CB10
    I assume my internet is working as I am able to send these messages. I don't believe anything is blocked.
    Carl Estes likes this.
    09-19-13 01:22 PM
  4. gp2002's Avatar
    What will happen if I disconnect it now?
    09-19-13 01:39 PM
  5. kbz1960's Avatar
    Nothing reboot both and try again.
    09-19-13 01:45 PM
  6. Carl Estes's Avatar
    I assume my internet is working as I am able to send these messages. I don't believe anything is blocked.
    Make sure you are using the DATA cable for the Playbook. NOT ALL micro usb cables are equal. The thicker-er Data cable that came with the Playbook is the one you need to use. It will have the BB logo on the micro end.

    Sometimes people have tried using just "any" micro usb cable and it does cause some issues.

    c
    09-19-13 01:56 PM
  7. Carl Estes's Avatar
    OK......now what?

    I decided to go with the wipe/reload of the OS.
    I have followed the steps on the video sent to me by Carl. I got to the part where I connect the PB to my computer and hit restart. I then hit "update, repair, get update, install update".

    I have been stuck on this screen for OVER AN HOUR with nothing happening in the status bar and a solid green light on the PB.

    What should I do now?Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG-20130920-00463.jpg 
Views:	148 
Size:	120.3 KB 
ID:	203447
    Any progress?

    c
    09-19-13 01:57 PM
  8. pacoman03's Avatar
    Why not just ignore that video and do a simple security wipe over wifi?
    09-19-13 02:31 PM
  9. Carl Estes's Avatar
    Why not just ignore that video and do a simple security wipe over wifi?
    A security wipe does not reload the OS. I beleive that is his end goal.....

    c
    09-19-13 03:27 PM
  10. Gooseberry Falls's Avatar
    I assume my internet is working as I am able to send these messages. I don't believe anything is blocked.
    I would still reboot your router and reconnect the PC/PB. I've had just certain devices lose connection before and other devices work just fine.
    Carl Estes likes this.
    09-19-13 03:37 PM
  11. pacoman03's Avatar
    A security wipe does not reload the OS. I beleive that is his end goal.....

    c
    I've heard that before, but if it doesn't, what does it do? If I recall correctly, wiping the Playbook results in about a 400 MB download, at the end of which you end up with an OS with only one app- the Browser. What is that 400 MB download? Further, if you wipe your Playbook while on an older OS, don't you wind up with the current OS? How is that possible if the new OS isn't being loaded? Someone correct me if I'm wrong about this.
    09-19-13 03:49 PM
  12. Stephen_TX's Avatar
    I've heard that before, but if it doesn't, what does it do? If I recall correctly, wiping the Playbook results in about a 400 MB download, at the end of which you end up with an OS with only one app- the Browser. What is that 400 MB download? Further, if you wipe your Playbook while on an older OS, don't you wind up with the current OS? How is that possible if the new OS isn't being loaded? Someone correct me if I'm wrong about this.
    It certainly did in my last Security Wipe. It went back to out-of-the-box (v 1.0), but after I re-registered with my BB ID, it then automatically re-loaded the most recent full update, complete with all of the native apps, including the browser, all via WiFi. I've also done the Desktop method, but if I remember correctly, that will update an installation (or I believe in my case, replaced a Beta with a production version), but doesn't "clean the system" the way a Security Wipe does (there's a joke in there). Also, the comment above regarding the proper data cable may well be the issue with the USB connection discussed earlier in the thread.
    09-19-13 04:24 PM
  13. Cynycl's Avatar
    Yep each security wipe results in the download of the most recent OS, just as if you were setting it up for the first time out of the box.
    Carl Estes likes this.
    09-19-13 04:30 PM
  14. pacoman03's Avatar
    I've also done the Desktop method, but if I remember correctly, that will update an installation but doesn't "clean the system" the way a Security Wipe does .
    If that is in fact the case, then I would think that the OP would be better off doing a securipy wipe.
    09-19-13 04:47 PM
  15. Carl Estes's Avatar
    Yep each security wipe results in the download of the most recent OS, just as if you were setting it up for the first time out of the box.
    It looks like I stand corrected. I was under the idea that a security wipe only wipes all the personal data that was loaded onto the PB, and doesn't do an OS reload.

    I will have to pay more attn. when/if I do that again.

    Apologies if I steered the OP the wrong direction.

    c
    09-19-13 04:52 PM
  16. Cynycl's Avatar
    Just for chits and giggles

    How to Wipe the OS on a BlackBerry PlayBook | CrackBerry.com

    There are also threads on debrick vs. security wipe if you are so inclined.
    09-19-13 04:55 PM
  17. Cynycl's Avatar
    It looks like I stand corrected. I was under the idea that a security wipe only wipes all the personal data that was loaded onto the PB, and doesn't do an OS reload.

    I will have to pay more attn. when/if I do that again.

    Apologies if I steered the OP the wrong direction.

    c
    You'll have to stay after class. No recess for you.
    Carl Estes likes this.
    09-19-13 04:56 PM
  18. gp2002's Avatar
    Any progress?

    c
    I will have to try it again to day........I had to go to sleep

    The cable I am using has the BB logo on it.

    Thanks for your help.......I will keep you updated on my next attempt.
    Carl Estes likes this.
    09-19-13 08:36 PM
  19. Carl Estes's Avatar
    You'll have to stay after class. No recess for you.
    I'll keep the "dunce" cap for a little bit longer........

    c
    Cynycl likes this.
    09-20-13 09:56 AM
  20. Carl Estes's Avatar
    I will have to try it again to day........I had to go to sleep

    The cable I am using has the BB logo on it.

    Thanks for your help.......I will keep you updated on my next attempt.
    Try just doing the Security wipe and see how that progresses.

    c
    09-20-13 10:00 AM
45 12

Similar Threads

  1. WiFi Calling MMS issues
    By SlickRick26 in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 01-26-14, 01:33 PM
  2. Any way to put official 2.1.0.1753 on lte Playbook without SIM card?
    By Upgrayedd111 in forum BlackBerry PlayBook OS
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-01-13, 12:33 AM
  3. eBay Purchased PlayBook Only Has Browser Installed?!?
    By MisterShark in forum BlackBerry PlayBook
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-19-13, 12:13 AM
  4. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-17-13, 09:25 PM
  5. Requesting info on 3 things to maximize my PlayBook.
    By castoridae in forum BlackBerry PlayBook
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-17-13, 08:42 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD