I'm a graduate student so I am always needing to search for and read research journal articles accessed as PDFs through the university library databases (IEEE, ACM, etc). Often I would print these articles since reading them on a laptop is cumbersome so I've been excited about the idea of having a tablet to read them on.

First I considered the iPad 1 but thought the size and weight of it would be uncomfortable. Then I looked at the Galaxy Tab but the software had the feel of never being intended for use as a tablet. Knowing that Honeycomb tablets were just around the corner I waited and waited for a tablet running that version of Android that would fit my needs. I was excited when the Xoom came out but when I looked at it in person I was disappointed by the screen and thought it wasn't worth the price. After the Xoom I looked at the iPad 2 and while it solved the weight issue I had with the iPad 1, iOS struck me as being unsophisticated compared to Honeycomb and QNX and the lower pixel density of the screen was noticeable when reading text.

So now I've pre-ordered a PlayBook, sight unseen, thinking that on paper it appears to be everything I want. Overall the software and hardware look like they will be superior to anything else on the market. I know it will have a great PDF reader and the pixel density is very good. I am hoping it has a Kindle app soon but that isn't a deal breaker.

My only concern is the size of the screen being able to view an entire page at a time with somewhat readable text. This may not be a problem if I am at least able to scan the entire page and then zoom in on the area I am wanting to read in more detail.

Sorry for the long post but I was wondering if anyone else is planning to use the PlayBook for a similar task or as an e-reader and what their thoughts on this are.
    04-05-11 12:02 PM