Wow, even some of my apps have been pirated. I'll take it as a compliment
    04-28-12 11:47 PM
    First off, piracy has its fingers in every conceivable ecosystem out there. I know how to pirate stuff on my WP7, my MBP, my previous Windows laptop, and my PlayBook. The simple reason why piracy is here and is going to stay is because not everybody wants to pay for something. You could the most secure app store (like Apple tried) and given enough time it'd eventually break down (like Installous for the iOs did). There's no way around it. However, I pay for my apps, simply because as a CS student I know the amount of work that goes into software. I think most people don't, they just see a nerd behind a desk coding his off while chugging on Mountain Dew. If people knew the amount of work you guys did, I think it'd go a long way towards better appreciation of the work put into software development and hence, reduce piracy.

Also, pricing is going to be a major issue. I know why most everyone back in Malaysia, where I grew up, prefers pirating. Because they don't want to spend 400 Ringgit Malaysia roughly 150$ to buy something so not tangible. They'd have no issue of shelling out thousands for a laptop, but for the OS? Not a dime would be give. I understand why the apps on the BlackBerry app world are higher, I also know that Apple subsidizes the prices of its apps but 4.99 is something people just don't feel like giving even for an amazing app. (I had to think thrice before buying the GroovyNotes app).

If RIM can come up with ways to make the public more aware of the work put into app development, and work out a plan or even holiday specials to drop app prices piracy can be mitigated. Piracy though, will never be eliminated.
    jonathon.94 likes this.
    04-28-12 11:54 PM