Being a newbie here and not having the PB yet, I understand the machine can "serve" html pages: one can load a site on it and then view it "locally" through the web browser (is this true? easy?)

But I have one more question. Apart from static sites, many functionalities now can be greatly improved via php scripts.
    Thus my question: is there a native PHP capacity on the PB?
    Or can one "install" such a package somehow?

I feel if this is true, a very large range of application becomes available in the form of "just local web apps"... I for one have solutions for almost all my needs concerning document writing, calendars, wikis... in the form of PHP-driven local sites.
    (indeed, an additional support for MySQL would help in some cases)

Thank you!

H.
    06-20-11 07:13 AM
    currently no, i've tried php loaded as a file and it failed. html files works just fine though.

as for javascripts it worked partially, not all function would work well

if there is a full web server inside the playbook, could you imagine security risk it possessed?
    06-20-11 07:18 AM
    Thank you for this NikeStars!
    As concerns the webserver, I insist all we need is a local server, not serving to the outside (so no security risk) -moreover we could serve from a specific folder only for instance. FWIW, this is something that was implemented straight on Apple's ipod touch in the weeks after the first model started to sell, years ago...
    06-20-11 08:48 AM
    There is a WebKit development environment that allows you to create HTML + Javascript + MySQLlite apps already out there. There's no PHP support though, I'd be shocked if there was one available on iOS too (at least without rooting your device) as Apple is extremely strict about letting code from anything but the Apple app store on the device.
    06-20-11 10:10 AM
    Potentially, the NDK would allow you to compile PHP and use this to create a PHP app - but I doubt that this would be trivial.
    06-20-11 11:51 AM