I use the PlayBook for the business side of photography, great for email, lists, brainstorming, researching, web surfing, etc. For that it's superb.

As a tool for photography get an iPad - seriously. More apps, better software integration (Photoshop, Lightroom, Capture One) Snapseed, and better weather apps. The iPad has a better calibrated screen, YMMV but my PlayBook is way out for colour, Apple products are better in that respect out-of-the-box.

-- Robert.
    You still have no easy way to transfer from the camera to the tablet.
    10-29-12 04:49 AM
    (...) iPad - seriously. More apps, better software integration (Photoshop, Lightroom, Capture One)...
    Well that's quite significant. Indeed I know photographers for who these last three mean the choice is over...
    Still, as I'm just an amateur with an extreme sensitivity to monopolies, I appreciate surviving outside Apple/Google here -knowing it's survival.
    (but survival with a Curves tool! )
    10-29-12 05:06 AM
    He has the same as ours: Eye-fi, save for him it's a native app, for us an unsupported android sideload.
    And most probably there's a range of third-party SDCard readers: working for Apple, you imagine...
    10-29-12 05:09 AM
    I may explore it further and see if I can accomplish the wifi Bridge connection on a spare 9800 without a SIM in it and maybe a small router like an Apple Express, not even connected to the internet, but just turned on providing a wifi connection between the devices.
    This is very seducing but involves two extra devices. The ideal would be some wifi-enabled thing that'd accept reading SDcards. Recently, I was close to buy a XyFy USB 3Gkey, that hosts a micro SD and deploys its own wifi network once powered. Costly, but efficient. I contacted the guys; they are in the process of upgrading their ROM in order that the microSD is visible as a server in Wifi. When they feature this, I'll definitely be tempted --one single device for all 3G, USB, SD...