It's been a little over a week since my Playbook arrived and I'm getting used to the UI, but there is something missing. Special characters. Namely, accented characters.

Obviously, I am not talking about the on-screen keyboard. That is the best virtual keyboard I ever used and the predictive input is just amazing. The bluetooth HID input is a completely different animal, though. I read the effin' manual and, in theory, it should allow accented characters using a sequence of alt+accent+letter. Can anyone confirm that it works and which keyboard was used to test?

Apple keyboard won't do. Actually, even the 9700 acting through the bridge won't accent the vowels. Holding them and sliding the trackpad will render a capital letter and the cursor coming along the screen. I have found no solution at all up to now, which is a major dealbreaker, since I work as a writer and got the PB to lighten up my backpack load. If anyone can confirm a working keyboard (other than RIM's mini, as accessories are as scarce as VERY expensive in Brazil - a single case is worth a third of a new PB), like Nokia's foldable or another model, I would be grateful.
    08-06-12 06:35 PM
    I know that keystroke combos work on *RIMS* keyboard. I'm not sure that they work on any other models.
    08-06-12 09:12 PM
    I know that keystroke combos work on *RIMS* keyboard. I'm not sure that they work on any other models.
    That's the whole point here, knowing which keyboards work. Besides RIM's, of course. I would love to get one, the trackpad is quite attractive, but it'd be surely pricey to import one, as RFB, the brazilian IRS, charges 60% tax over imports. Plus the dollar quote. Ugh.

Their symbol is a lion. Wonder why.

Anyone? Please help!
    08-07-12 06:37 AM
    Have you tried holding the key on the RIM keyboard?

I know Accents are available on the PlayBook keyboard by holding the key.. Attachment 115135..