04-02-14 07:50 PM
365 ... 45678 ...
tools
  1. drum's Avatar
    hi
    I am from India and have just bought a playbook 32 Gb device. Loving it however I am concerned that while lying flat the device is not flat and keeps rotating . I can discern a bump centered around the blackberry logo. Is this normal?
    Hi I have a 16gb pb and mine does lie flat with no bulge on the back. I'm sure there's a thread about this if you do a search. Good luck

    Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    01-02-12 09:54 AM
  2. pallav_gupta's Avatar
    hi
    I am from India and have just bought a playbook 32 Gb device. Loving it however I am concerned that while lying flat the device is not flat and keeps rotating . I can discern a bump centered around the blackberry logo. Is this normal?
    this is there in almost all the tabs here in india . hope it does not cause problems keeping fingers crossed.
    01-02-12 11:29 AM
  3. Kendom's Avatar
    Hi all,

    I am on Os2 latest beta and having side loaded a number of apps and games plus my original set of apps and games, my home screen is extremely cluttered.

    How can I create tabs or folders on the homescreen ? Is this possible ?
    01-02-12 01:13 PM
  4. crockerscott's Avatar
    I was able to group my icons in the OS2 beta just like iOS by which you touvh an icon and hold on it until it startsto wiggle thenyou drag and drop it on another icon you would want in the same folder or group and release. it will create a group or folder and ask you to name it. You can then drag other icons into it but you cannot release them until you've placed in their spot in the new folder. Very handy for organizing everything.
    BlazorBoy and threeam like this.
    01-02-12 02:41 PM
  5. jafobabe's Avatar
    If you are having problems purchasing apps in appworld, please read the link below from the Blackberry site.

    KB26621-How to change the payment method in BlackBerry App World for either the BlackBerry PlayBook or BlackBerry smartphone 0 1930014541
    01-02-12 06:01 PM
  6. lang007's Avatar
    Does anyone know how to clear browsing history without having to do it one site at at time?
    01-03-12 01:23 PM
  7. BlueRocks's Avatar
    Does anyone know how to clear browsing history without having to do it one site at at time?
    In the browser,
    Swipe down from the top bezel
    Open the 'Options' by selecting the gear icon.
    Select 'Privacy % Security' from the left side.
    Scroll down on the right side and select 'Clear History'.

    That will clear everything out.
    lang007 and jafobabe like this.
    01-03-12 01:38 PM
  8. lang007's Avatar
    In the browser,
    Swipe down from the top bezel
    Open the 'Options' by selecting the gear icon.
    Select 'Privacy % Security' from the left side.
    Scroll down on the right side and select 'Clear History'.

    That will clear everything out.

    That is GREAT thanx alot
    01-03-12 01:44 PM
  9. anon(55900)'s Avatar
    this is there in almost all the tabs here in india . hope it does not cause problems keeping fingers crossed.
    Same thing here in the USA, I believe it to be normal.
    01-03-12 01:57 PM
  10. sushistew's Avatar
    here are some os 2.0 beta tips in video form
    "http://www.youtube.com/user/SushistewPB"
    jafobabe likes this.
    01-03-12 07:09 PM
  11. rossyl's Avatar
    I found this helpful post whilst reading, I hope the original poster oesn't mind me posting it here:

    BULGE ON REAR OF PLAYBOOK
    I am one of the few unlucky ones with the growing bulge on the back of the playbook at the logo. I know the newest ones come with the slightest one (confirmed by 2 different people at RIM RMA) but the older ones are not suppose to have it. No way to tell if one is older or newer, some sat on shelves for a long time. But the point is as my bulge grows my wifi is getting slower and slower and I think it would just die. For anyone reading this if you are unsure its easy to tell, watch a online video for 30 min if the temp on the back is OK (a little warm but nothing really) its all OK. BUT, f it is more than a little warm it might be a good idea to have it looked into. I have the Fed Ex truck on its way right now with a return box for mine.

    I'm a tech for a living for 20 years so I'm not guessing. Its a small issue with the heatsink separating, or maybe having too much or not enough paste but its real.

    Brought it up as maybe you have a faulty unit?
    jafobabe likes this.
    01-04-12 05:49 AM
  12. xtrasher_kingx's Avatar
    i'm using my torch n bridged it to my play book..so i was bbm-ing my friends.. i wanted to select a few text and copy it to somewhere.. but i couldn't.. then i went on trying to copy some text from my email.. also couldn't.. how?
    01-04-12 11:45 AM
  13. blackjack93117's Avatar
    Thanks everyone - sorry I have not been able to maintain this - been banned and on travel - and now catching up. Appreciate all the posts.
    jafobabe likes this.
    01-04-12 11:59 AM
  14. BlazorBoy's Avatar
    i'm using my torch n bridged it to my play book..so i was bbm-ing my friends.. i wanted to select a few text and copy it to somewhere.. but i couldn't.. then i went on trying to copy some text from my email.. also couldn't.. how?
    If you are on BES then I believe you cannot copy (cut/past) from material seen via Bridge. You can copy some material if you end Bridge and can see it on say they net or in your own files. Some material seems not to copy. Not sure why.
    01-04-12 02:24 PM
  15. dano_style's Avatar
    thanks 4 makn things easier 4 us newbies. HAPPY NEWYEAR! DANO
    jafobabe likes this.
    01-05-12 01:26 PM
  16. alexyov1's Avatar
    very helpful thread!!, i'm new, got my PB 32GB on Dec 26
    01-06-12 07:01 PM
  17. hpjrt's Avatar
    I am encountering the most peculiar issue with the Bridge Email! I figure I'm overlooking something, hence the post here (rather than have it pounced upon by the trolls in the main forum)

    When typing a response to either an email or a text, if I try to type the word "else" the program underlines it in red and changes it to read "eles".

    Now if I type the word into Word To Go and copy it to a reply email it's accepted (as it should be being correct) but if I backspace the word and retype it, it does the "change thing" again. (And everyone said there was no spell check!)

    Any ideas? I'm quite sure that "else" isn't the only word so affected but it was the one I encountered today and thus paid attention to. Is the spell check, flawed though it appears to be, coming from my 9800 Torch? If so, can I turn it off?

    Thanks for any help!
    01-06-12 08:19 PM
  18. BlazorBoy's Avatar
    What else could it be?
    01-06-12 09:50 PM
  19. ody360's Avatar
    Just in case others have missed this, the built in calculator has other modes: scientific calc, unit converter, and tip calculator. really helpful and no need to download another app!

    While calc is open, just swipedown from top bezel to access other modes! Enjoy!
    Kerrstar and mszbzltn like this.
    01-06-12 11:10 PM
  20. hpjrt's Avatar
    What else could it be?
    You were absolutely right! I know my Torch far less well than I know my Playbook. So just in case someone else runs into this, I'll report what I did.

    1. Went to the Options area of my 9800 and found an area called "typing and input"
    2. I selected this and inside I found Word Substitution.
    3. i input the else/eles "rule" (although I probably didn't need to do that)
    4. Up at the top I found another section called "Language"
    5. Inside I discovered that somehow the input language was set to, of all things "Portugues!!!
    6. I set the input language as English and that seems to have solved my annoying issue (though I felt likeva complete !
    01-06-12 11:27 PM
  21. BlazorBoy's Avatar
    You were absolutely right! I know my Torch far less well than I know my Playbook. So just in case someone else runs into this, I'll report what I did.

    1. Went to the Options area of my 9800 and found an area called "typing and input"
    2. I selected this and inside I found Word Substitution.
    3. i input the else/eles "rule" (although I probably didn't need to do that)
    4. Up at the top I found another section called "Language"
    5. Inside I discovered that somehow the input language was set to, of all things "Portugues!!!
    6. I set the input language as English and that seems to have solved my annoying issue (though I felt likeva complete !
    Do I understand you to say that your PlayBook gives you auto correction or that happens only on your phone. I was not aware that the PB on OS1 has that feature.
    Thanks.
    newman44 likes this.
    01-07-12 02:02 PM
  22. jafobabe's Avatar
    Do I understand you to say that your PlayBook gives you auto correction or that happens only on your phone. I was not aware that the PB on OS1 has that feature.
    Thanks.
    He did say he was looking on his phone, not the playbook. See his #1.
    debt7 likes this.
    01-07-12 02:09 PM
  23. BlazorBoy's Avatar
    He did say he was looking on his phone, not the playbook. See his #1.
    I guess you must be right, but his original post was not clear, at least to me:

    "I am encountering the most peculiar issue with the Bridge Email! I figure I'm overlooking something, hence the post here (rather than have it pounced upon by the trolls in the main forum)

    When typing a response to either an email or a text, if I try to type the word "else" the program underlines it in red and changes it to read "eles".

    Now if I type the word into Word To Go and copy it to a reply email it's accepted (as it should be being correct) but if I backspace the word and retype it, it does the "change thing" again. (And everyone said there was no spell check!)

    Any ideas? I'm quite sure that "else" isn't the only word so affected but it was the one I encountered today and thus paid attention to. Is the spell check, flawed though it appears to be, coming from my 9800 Torch? If so, can I turn it off?

    Thanks for any help! "

    And then I took his second post to mean he fixed the PB issue by adjusting his phone. If there were a way to get auto correct on the PB I would love it. But it seems not.

    Thanks.

    BB
    01-07-12 02:20 PM
  24. jafobabe's Avatar
    Yes, I agree with you it was some what confusing.. I did have to read it over again.
    DavidM348 likes this.
    01-07-12 02:33 PM
  25. hpjrt's Avatar
    Do I understand you to say that your PlayBook gives you auto correction or that happens only on your phone. I was not aware that the PB on OS1 has that feature.
    Thanks.
    Sorry for the confusion. I noticed the problem on my Playbook but it was in the Bridged email app that it happened. And yes, every time I typed "else" into the Bridge email app on my Playbook, the word would get underlined in red and would magically (read irritatingly) change to read "eles". This would happen both on the Playbook and, while I was searching for a solution, in the email app of my Torch 9800.

    So since the Playbook has no spell check or word replace, this must have been originating with my phone ... since the mail on the Playbook isn't really resident on thevPlaybook.

    That's when I went hunting for the answers in the options on my phone. Bear in mind that I got my Torch in June as a 60th birthday present. Prior to that I had a cell phone that was useless for anything besides ... um ... phone calls. As a result, I hadn't done a great deal of playing with my Torch and don't recall setting up spell check at all! Somehow in the "word replace" section the input language was Portugues ... once I changed it to English, the problem both on the phone and the Playbook vanished!

    Oh and I am a woman ... just for future reference.
    01-07-12 05:25 PM
365 ... 45678 ...

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 170
    Last Post: 06-30-13, 01:27 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-08-10, 10:54 AM
  3. Things you didnt know about your Bold.
    By tag824 in forum BlackBerry Bold 9000
    Replies: 209
    Last Post: 08-16-09, 10:29 AM
  4. 5 things you didnt know about the new PALM PRE.
    By emkwan in forum Other Mobile Platforms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-20-09, 05:31 PM
  5. Replies: 33
    Last Post: 11-20-08, 05:05 AM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD