I'm just starting out with OsmAnd and picked up the 0.8.3 version on appworld on PB OS 2.1.0.1088. Have not tried any of the previous versions.

My experience with 0.8.3 is not all that good..
    - Crashed 2 times while trying to set up voice options after planning a route, including right after a clean device reboot. I allowed my device to send logs those first two times (did not get asked about subsequent crashes)
    - Got an out of free memory prompt while planning a route using the offline osmand routing option, with no other apps open on the device (results in a crash)
    - Crashed a couple of times while trying to plan different routes (without the out of memory warning, just exited with no warnings)
    - Worked while navigating home last night (5Km in a straight line), but crashed 3 times while driving to work with a far away destination set (to provoke recalculations while driving).
    - While navigating I see my position indicated with a blue triangle, but there is also a red triangle on the screen that makes no sense at all, seems to be stuck at a fixed position on the screen.
    - Map rendering is also painfully slow, but I could live with that if the app was stable..

On the bright side, this is the only option I have found so far that will let me both download map data and search it offline (google maps will download map tiles but you can't search without a data connection). I was impressed with the detail level of the maps and the offline search capabilities, but at this point navigating just doesn't work.

Is there a previous version available that is more stable?
    11-13-12 08:53 AM
    You have Nogago Maps that is very similar to Osmand (almost the same UI) and, as far as I remember, quite faster at refreshing. But I see I had discarded it too (it lies deep in a "other maps" folder -which means I tried and renounced...)