"As for battery life, tablets win hands-down because they do not draw as much juice as laptops due to their inability to perform functions such as PowerPoint, he {MountRoyalUniversity prof. Rod Corbett} said. . . . {for a Sept 6th Neighbours/calgary herald article} " eehhh ?!

Smart tech: Think before you buy

I'm a novice when it comes to Pb functionality, but I'm sure I've seen a few posts on CB, where endusers of the Pb have stated using it during business travels for PP presentations vs a laptop. Majority (that have posted) don't even bother travelling a backup laptop !

Of course it also has been stated by endusers that the functionality is not 'complete' !

Anywho, IMHO this prof. needs more (or better utilitization of ) 'research' funds to also include the RIM BB Pb !

Maybe he should "Be Bold" and pop over to Wal'Canada this wk for a 32gb /$118cdn !!
    Last edited by Cracklen; 09-15-12 at 02:16 PM.
    bungaboy and Vorkosigan like this.
    09-15-12 02:14 PM
    Android devices can handle power point. Both Quick Office Pro and OfficeSuite Pro, which are both android apps, have PP capabilities.
    09-15-12 02:58 PM
    Creation is a no go with docs to go and playback is hit and miss. But the professor is wrong as tablets can very well handle powerpoint in some cases.
    09-15-12 03:09 PM
    It's nonsense. Keynote on the iPad is another example and Smart Office 2 on the PlayBook has a presentation app which uses Microsoft's PPT and PPTX formats.
    Last edited by bdegrande; 09-15-12 at 05:11 PM.
    09-15-12 04:48 PM
    After posting this thread, I was able to source the profs' email addy .... sent him the link to this thread. Maaaybe someone in his office will share how aged or restricted the sampling of tablets .

Did not find the reporters emailaddy yet.

Thanksfor the feedback on realtime actuals !
    Last edited by Cracklen; 09-15-12 at 05:43 PM.
    09-15-12 05:40 PM