I received my OEM keyboard yesterday, so my BlackBerry trifecta is complete: BB 7.1 9900, 16 gb Playbook, and Mini-Keyboard. I must say, the keyboard was worth the wait. It packs quite a punch.

As a ridiculously obsessed fan of BlackBerry, I'll (try to) give my honest opinion of the BB mini keyboard. (FYI: I'm not a developer, RIM employee, or an IT guy--I'm a teacher in Southern California and the only person I know who owns these products.)

Pairing: Easy. You literally pair the keyboard the same way you do a phone or another device. Takes seconds.

Trackpad: The trackpad in and of itself is almost worth the price of the keyboard. As all PB owners know, clicking certain links on a 7-inch tablet can sometimes be frustrating. The trackpad on this device makes it a breeze. Scrolling with the trackpad is a tad iffy. It either goes really fast or really slow depending on which app you are running. Unfortunately, there is no way to adjust the speed or consistency either.

Keyboard: Having a physical keyboard simply provides an ergonomically superior experience to the on-screen keyboard. The tactile response time is superior to all other bluetooth keyboards I've owned. There is zero to minimal lag between typing and letters appearing on the screen. The buttons are somewhat cramped, but that's to be expected on a 7-inch tablet. It's not a problem for me considering that I didn't expect to type 110 WPS like I do on a full-size keyboard. The bottom line: You'll type faster and more accurately than the on-screen keyboard.

Overall: There are times when users want the portability of a tablet, but the feel and usability of a Netbook or a laptop. The mini keyboard sufficiently meets those needs. Even though the price is high, you'll find yourself using your Playbook in new and more productive ways.
    hpjrt, mandony, bbfan1040 and 2 others like this.
    07-07-12 01:25 PM