I'm very interested in the Office cloud 365 and the Playbook.

Being a novice, I don't understand quite what BES means (or implies), but when I read articles about Office 365, they also mention that it is associated with RIMS "enterprise" service.

I currently am on the BIS type service.

Does this mean that BIS users will be unable access Office 365?.... is there some additional fee to be hooked up with BES?

If Office 365 doesn't pan out, I'm hoping that Docs to Go will work... and integrate easily with Dropbox. In particular, I'm hoping that Docs to Go will be easier to use on that big Playbook screen ...with plenty of instant access icons and menu items.
    04-17-11 08:26 AM
    As far as I know BES will not be a requirement for Office365. You might have to download an app on your playbook to get it to connect to the cloud but logically I don't see how BES would be a requirement.
    04-17-11 09:06 AM
    Hello,

Through my work, I have a good deal of familiarity with Microsoft's cloud offerings. The only requirement that I can see would be a web browser which is compatible (most major ones work). Having said that, I have not tested it with the Playbook (mine has not arrived yet), nor have a tested from my BB Torch (I am a Office365 beta tester). Assuming the browser is compatible, I see no issues for BIS users.

The only question would be availability of BES via the Office 365 suite. Although there have been recent announcments from RIM and Microsoft reagarding BES in the cloud, it is my understanding that it will not be ready for the June 30th Office 365 launch. Honestly, I would not expect to see BES in the cloud with Office 365 until the fall.

Kanuck 34
    Last edited by Kanuck34; 04-17-11 at 12:47 PM.
    04-17-11 10:12 AM
    Hello,