I suspect its a sell-off for a couple reasons...
    ....to generate revenue
    ....new Playbook with BB10....
    ....being discontinued?>?
    09-07-12 06:24 PM
    Love these prices! Now my full price 64g PlayBook is worth like $30.00! Go RIM!
    Feel for ya bro but that's hilarious,I feel better paying 399 for my first 64G
    09-07-12 06:27 PM
    I'll take a PB anyway I can. For me it has more than paid for itself.
    rshew and bungaboy like this.
    09-07-12 06:30 PM
    I'm no expert, far from it in fact, but the way I see it the current playbook is kind of a "BB10" beta, RIM put QNX on the playbook while they figured it all out, now they're porting it over to the phones and polishing it off. The existing pb will be getting BB10 unless I've misread something so no worries there.

I'd imagine somewhere down the line there'll be a hardware update if there's market for it. Right now I don't think it's needed, let's face it tablets aren't like pcs where you're keeping up with the latest release of crysis. Only thing we have to hope is that RIM don't take the once bitten twice shy approach

As for how low they go, who knows? Right now they're priced really well against other tabs. Realistically you're either looking at a lower specced android, a Chinese copy tab, or a kindle if you want something cheaper. They could go further, technically they could sell them for �5 now and still turn a profit according to the beancounters, but it makes sense to try and recoup some money. Let's face it even if the playbook was a failure in the media's eyes its still a decent device and aggressive pricing will catch people's attention

<obligatory bit about all the above being my own opinion etc and not believing everything you read on the Internet>
    Last edited by Donnee; 09-07-12 at 06:41 PM.
    balding1 and bungaboy like this.
    09-07-12 06:37 PM
    But we have a VAT of about 15% which I don't think USA has.