I am a university professor and a father of 9. I am also a soccer coach, a musician and my kids all play soccer/hockey. I have a Blackberry Torch and a Playbook, and it has made me a very, very productive person. This device may not be for everyone but I can just relate my experiences and what I use every day. In just this past month and a half, my playbook has become indispensible.

For my work, I lecture and this year, I have the tough 8:30am time slot. However, I got an HDMI to VGA box (cost about $300) and use my playbook and Slideshow to go for all my lectures. I use videos and youtube videos in my lectures and the PB has been phenomenal. I use Word to Go and Adobe Reader to read and make notes on papers and theses that I need to review (thus far, 5 papers and 4 theses). I use the screen capture a fair bit. I occasionally use Simple Grapher to make simple plots in my second year math course. I use Noto and Cogimap to brainstorm and it has made me much more productive.

For scheduling and managing the 9 kids schedules and the 2 parent schedules, the ability to bridge my Torch to my PB is phenomenal. I can check email on one device and make changes to my calendar on the other. My kids use Facebook and BBM a lot so, needless to say, this device has made coordinating my "little company" pretty easy. Occasionally, I have used Bing Maps to find a location of an "away field" or "rink" but I haven't used it all that much. I use PlayCreator when I coach and it has been very useful when combined with Noto to create lineups.

For leisure, I use Orb and Orb running on my home PC to allow me to access about 1 TByte of music. I am also a musician and love the ability to listen to whatever I want, whenever I want. I also use Orb to access home videos and photos. Needless to say, the built in camera and video has been used to death already.