So, on standby the battery drain is very slow. Im actually very pleased with the standby drain.

BUT, i took the playbook off the charger today at 100%, and browsed online and watched some youtube videos for a total of 25 minutes, and had a battery drain of 11% bringing it down to 89% battery. AFTER 25 MINUTES.

I am new to the Playbook, can someone help me with any fixes/debugs i can do to try and reduce my insane battery usage while watching youtube videos or doing simple web browsing.

I know it's not a normal drain time with usage.

this comes out to 3.3 hours of battery life with continuous usage
    02-27-12 11:24 AM
    If you have a new PB, your battery meter might not have calibrated properly. Give it a few cycles before making conclusions.

Just in case, download Battery Guru and see what the battery health is (should be in the 90s or high 80s). Also, look at the power consumption.

In general, playing flash content does consume a lot of power. Your power consumption will also depend on how many apps you have open.

Also note that you reach FULL 100% charge when the lightning bolt is gone from the battery icon and it's showing the plug instead.
    Last edited by kennyliu; 02-27-12 at 11:31 AM.
    02-27-12 11:26 AM
    If your interested in seeing how different things affect battery life get the battery guru app.
    Lowering your screen brightness would have a big impact.
    02-27-12 11:31 AM
    Mine drains about 8% in 30 minutes with surfing the web. It drains about 2-3% in standby over f hours with bridge and wifi and sharing turned on.
    02-27-12 11:32 AM
    I know, the drain is insane on this thing...

30 minutes drain by just browsing the web?
    02-27-12 11:34 AM
    I know, the drain is insane on this thing...

30 minutes drain by just browsing the web?
    Have you read what I posted above?
    02-27-12 11:37 AM
    If you have a new PB, your battery meter might not have calibrated properly. Give it a few cycles before making conclusions.