So I picked up a new iPad and yes, the screen is great.

So what. Very little else about iOS has changed. Sure, features like "voice dictation" are added. Small improvements.

As a product manager, I know how this game is played. Put enough new into the device / OS to entice upgrades, but no so much that you blow your wad all at once. Apple has this nuanced to a T (iPhone 4S? Come on, Mr. Cook... that's a bit underwhelming, don't you think? I understand Siri to be Nuance voice identification software (translating spoken word to text, accurately) then hitting up the Wolfram Alpha site to get the answers, then text-to-speech to read "something" back to you, outloud... which isn't really an invention at all, more like just a batch script with a GUI on it... and it requires a live internet connection to boot. I don't think it can even tell you the current time without an internet connection, can it? But I digress...)

I'm wondering what iOS 6 will hold, but in the long run, what I'm seeing as differences between how Apple is driving iOS and how RIM is driving BBX toward the future is that Apple is adding new apps into the core app package, but RIM is adding new core functionality to the OS itself upon which compelling new applications can be built.

Yes, your device has to have an accelerometer and a magnetometer to do augmented reality, but if the device DOES have those features, the app has to be written and logically compute useful things with that data... and the data has to be presented in a compelling manner.

I have watched a few videos regarding how the iOS user interface components can be used by developers... but what I haven't seen from Apple what I have seen from Microsoft in the past, and RIM going forward, is a keenness to build foundational user interface components into the core OS that software developers can use to build really compelling applications.