I've used my new BlackBerry PlayBook for two days and would like to share my first impressions with the community.

Just a little background about myself: I'm an electrical engineer whose career took a left-turn into IT when PCs began appearing on desks. Over the next two decades I managed IT departments for high-tech firms and was exposed to an inhuman degree of vendor hype and underperforming technologies. Years of exposure to this mental abuse have caused me to become the polar-opposite of an 'early adopter'. I'm a critical cuss; just ask the bright people I've managed.

Kudos to everyone at RIM for creating the BlackBerry PlayBook. I'm not easily impressed but the PlayBook has made a very favourable one.

• The tutorials are clear, concise, and very instructive.
    • The tablet's build-quality, fit, and finish are excellent.
    • I like its slimness, clean lines, and soft-touch casing.
    • The display quality is outstanding.
    • Navigation is simple and straightforward.
    • Using the bezel as part of the UI is clever.
    • Performance, responsiveness, and stability have been very good.
    There's a tremendous amount of technology packed into a slim laminate of glass, plastic, silicon, and software. Good development tools are needed to realize its full potential so I paid a visit to the BlackBerry Developer's site. From my seat, I can see that RIM is serious about attracting developer talent. I hope more developers hear the call because the PlayBook is well provisioned to inspire creative minds.

Assuming a solid Tablet OS 2.0 release, and the appointment of a brilliant head of Marketing, this tablet has legs and can run far. I'm rooting for its success.
    02-06-12 07:25 PM
    you couldn't have said it better, i agree with all of your valid points.
    and welcome on the CB Forums.
    02-06-12 07:27 PM