I am a school teacher and from time to time show a video that reinforces the material we are covering. Any idea if PB will be able to work with an external CDRom drive? I have a projector in my room and would like to use the PB and a CDRom drive to show vids instead of carting my laptop back and forth. Thanks!
    06-12-11 06:30 PM
    the USB on PlayBook does not currently support external devices.
    06-12-11 06:39 PM
    If the media you want to present is in DVD format you can copy it to the BlackBerry PlayBook and use the built-in video player application and output the presentation using an HDMI cable connected between the tablet and the projector or monitor.

There are a few streaming applications and server software available if you prefer not to copy the media to the tablet. Kingston has a Wi-Drive but it only works with the Apple iPad which seems rather insane; then again the Wi-Drive only works on the Apple iPad with a special app.
    06-12-11 06:40 PM
    Currently there are no drives compatible with the PB
    There is limited connection to a BB phone's microSD card through Bridge.
    You can load files onto the PB through the USB to a PC.
    Depending upon the type of file, you might have to do a file conversion.
    Go to the
    blackberry.com
    website to download the PB manual which lists the file types used by the native PB apps.

Regarding the projector, the native connection is HTML to HD TV. This is a digital connection.
    If your projector requires an analog connection, this might be problematic.
    Search this forum for a discussion of a special HP converter that seems to work.
    Last edited by mandony; 06-12-11 at 07:56 PM.
    06-12-11 07:51 PM
    My projector is a new one with hdmi connection. I hope to just be able to plug the PB in and go...

I'm a newbie to PB and to uploading vids from dvd to anything... it would be great to leave the laptop at home.
    06-12-11 09:30 PM