I am a total newbie with developing. I actually haven't even started my classes for Java yet. I played with Visual Basic when I was 12 long ago. I am wondering will I need to learn a totally new programming language in the future? Or will all current developers still be able to use Java?
    09-29-10 08:48 PM
    there will ALWAYS be new languages to learn. that's the nature of the beast. the one thing you can count on is CHANGE.

Don't be like Garth in Wayne's World. LOL! ("We FEAR change!!!")
    09-29-10 08:51 PM
    Java is a great learning language, a horrible development language.

I really suggest you look at learning other languages right out of the shoot,

There are new languages developed every year, some grow, others just seem to vanish, you'll always want to familiarize your self with that is popular
    09-29-10 08:59 PM
    Java is only good for one thing... drinking... or eating if turned into ice cream.
    09-29-10 09:14 PM
    I am a total newbie with developing. I actually haven't even started my classes for Java yet. I played with Visual Basic when I was 12 long ago. I am wondering will I need to learn a totally new programming language in the future? Or will all current developers still be able to use Java?
    As others have said, you'll always be learning new languages. Expect to learn a new one at least every 2-3 years as long as you're actively developing. The important thing is, almost every programming language is built in similar concepts. They have slightly different syntax, rules about what's an object, etc. but fundamentally they use the same structures. Java is a great language, certainly a good candidate to learn first. I'd then try to learn a language without C-based syntax, just so you can get a feel for what else is out there. I'd recommend Python, but really what language isn't important. Once you see what's similar and what's different between those two, new languages will be easy.