Was playing with the playbook at a futureshop and i loaded one of my textbooks (i am a science student and i have almost all my textbooks in .pdf form) and (i think this directly correlates with the ibooks app on ipad).... theres no bookmarks! My biology book had bookmarks for every chapter and on the playbook you cant use them... you simply can just scroll quickly throughout the .pdf

in a book with 1500 pages simply scrolling from page to page or scrolling quickly throughout the book doesnt help.

Now i know in iBooks you can create bookmarks but they wont appear when you transfer the file back to your pc....

just my $0.02
    04-23-11 10:58 AM
    I am in the same boat as you - I teach and most of my textbooks are available in a pdf form with bookmarks. The current Adobe app is horribly limited and does not have any features aside from viewing the document - no highlighting, no notes ability, and so forth. To be blunt, if you are using it to look at a large document such as a textbook, it is horrible.

Hopefully an updated version of a pdf reader will come out with a little more functionality.
    04-23-11 11:16 AM
    does that mean youd go for something like the ipad 2 then?

Do you use flash a lot? outside of for school i dont need it but it was a big selling point for the pb in my opinion
    Jifffer likes this.
    04-23-11 02:50 PM
    I tried to open up the PlayBook warranty document from RIM today and all I got was three blank pages.
    04-23-11 04:09 PM
    The Adobe Reader on the PlayBook is limited and sluggish. I hope RIM comes out with a new pdf reader that's comparable in quality and functionality to iBooks.
    04-23-11 04:23 PM
    School books come in pdf form now? Yikes, l'm obviously getting old.
    jamesuc likes this.
    04-23-11 04:26 PM
    I keep tons of books on pdf's. I'm very disappointed with the pdf support. I hope that soon some 3rd party pdf readers will hit the market.
    04-23-11 04:56 PM