Picked up a new Playbook on Sunday and i have been very suprised how good it is compared to my iPad V1. Finally i have a browser that works!

However the battery life seems poor compared to my iPad. Like my iPad i was expecting 10 hrs while browsing. I'm currently getting 2 - 3% per 10 minutes browsing,non flash websites. Backlight is low and i have no apps running in the background. Is this normal?

When I first powered the unit up it did do a firmware update to the latest versions. I have tried a hard reset this morning but still seems to be the same.

Searching on the forum it's suggesting 3% per hour under these conditions.
    02-01-12 02:13 AM
    Picked up a new Playbook on Sunday and i have been very suprised how good it is compared to my iPad V1. Finally i have a browser that works!

However the battery life seems poor compared to my iPad. Like my iPad i was expecting 10 hrs while browsing. I'm currently getting 2 - 3% per 10 minutes browsing,non flash websites. Backlight is low and i have no apps running in the background. Is this normal?

When I first powered the unit up it did do a firmware update to the latest versions. I have tried a hard reset this morning but still seems to be the same.

Searching on the forum it's suggesting 3% per hour under these conditions.
    3% an hour while browsing is impossible. Otherwise, you would be getting about 30 hours of use on one charge.

With web-browsing, you can expect about 8 hours (give or take) of battery life, which is roughly 12-15% per hour. This is pretty close to what you are getting.

Edit: You probably mean 3% an hour on standby, which seems a bit too high to me. I get about 2 hours for each 1% on standby.
    Last edited by kennyliu; 02-01-12 at 02:35 AM.
    The Asgard likes this.
    02-01-12 02:31 AM
    With a new device it will take a few charges before the battery is calibrated. So don't pay too much attention the % indicator just yet.