With my 8120 I love using wi-fi to browse the internet. I don't want to buy a Data Plan because I don't want to spend the extra money, but all the apps I have found like Yahoo! Go or Opera Mini will not even install without a Blackberry data plan. Does anyone know of a way to make my pearl use wifi instead for everything? Is there an app for this or can I change it with the phone's settings? I appreciate any help you can give me, I'm a noob.
    04-10-08 06:13 PM
    I think you need to use the BB browser to do the installs is that what youre using to browse the web?
    04-10-08 06:15 PM
    Most apps for the BB do not have any support for a wifi connection. I think JiveTalk is the only third party app that can use wifi.
    04-10-08 06:18 PM
    yes i use the BB browser. I have tried using my computer and the browser for installing the apps. They will download onto my phone. I click on them to start the install process and the progress bar will move for a while but I always get an error saying the app couldn't connect to the internet.
    04-10-08 06:18 PM
    thanks sunkast, at least now i know that it is the apps and not my phone that are the problem. so is there any app that could sort of fool the apps into thinking it is getting a regular internet connection while using wifi?
    04-10-08 06:20 PM
    Sorry, none that I know of.
    04-10-08 06:26 PM
    Oh ok that explains it
    04-10-08 06:28 PM
    OK.. called T-mobile. Again, again, again, 15 mins on the phone.
    rep told me I CAN NOT use free wi-fi networks w/o data plan and that I need a "feature" that T-mobile has, as she put it.

T-mobile rep Kiara (ID #40210) sounded nice more lies?
    04-16-08 04:17 PM