First of all, hi. This is my first post here, though I've been addicted to this site for a while and have been checking up frequently. Onto business though.

Very soon my contract will be expiring with Verizon and the Pearl is very near (if not at) the top of my list for my next phone. However, I do have a few questions.

First, I am a student (will be in college next year) and I'd like to know how practical a phone like this would be. Would a Blackberry be ideal for campus? There are many other phones I'd like to get, but the providers are not in our area, so it's a no-go.

Next, SureType. I've been messing around with it in the Verizon store and it looks pretty neat, but I have a few gripes with it. First, it seems to pull up the words I need, however they always seem to be the third one on the list or so, and these are commonly used words. Does the Blackberry "adjust" and learn which words you use more frequently on a specific keystroke?

Further on SureType, I've noticed that typing in URLs is a pain. Trying to type in "facebook.com" forced me to do "face.book.com", then go back and delete the period, because otherwise I'd get "dave[other keystrokes here].com". It was a huge hassle. Is it just necessary to use Bookmarks frequently or is there an easier way?

The UI, especially in places like Messages and Blackberry Messenger looked quite spartan, something I wouldn't have expected. Is it supposed to look like this (with frequent use of the button left of the scroll)?

I'm mostly a text messaging person (and email) with phone calls not as important - I only make them when necessary. Is this phone a good messaging phone? I'm currently on a non-smartphone (RAZR). I really like the Pearl's size factor, which draws me away from other Blackberrys and such which look too large for my pocket.