I am new to the blackberry stuff I have an 8100 pearl and love it! What is all the os update about. what does it do? Does it help do anything important? what do I have to do to make it happen on my BB. I do not understand what all of it means any helpwould be awsome thanks..
    03-20-08 08:09 PM
    OS is an abbreviation for Operating System. It is what makes your phone do what it does Just like the Windows OS makes your PC do what it does. The updated OS will hopefully have some new features. I'm not exactly sure what the new features are or how to install them since I personally have not had to do it yet but there are many posts in here that explain the process.
    03-20-08 08:24 PM
    supposedly the new os will be an ota download from your service provider it will enable the pearl to record video and play videos (flash support) there is supposed to be better web browsing with it but we'll see
    03-20-08 08:27 PM
    Welcome to CB chino843!!!
    03-20-08 08:49 PM
    I am new to the blackberry stuff I have an 8100 pearl and love it! What is all the os update about.
    You were better off not knowing. As long as your device is working properly, you don't need the new OS, considering it wont be available til its available anyway. All the hype is about features that you have to wait on so whats the point?
    03-20-08 08:58 PM
    Welcome to CB!!!
    03-20-08 09:31 PM
    Welcome chino. You joined 2 days after me.

As other replies have said, the OS is the operating system provided on your phone.

The OS is provided by BB usually in conjunction with your network operator (AT&T, Rogers, Vodafone, etc.). This means that if you wish to upgrade, you need to make sure that you have the correct vendor version for your phone because AT&T software will not work with Vodafone and vice versa.