I was interested in some feedback from some BB users that went from a normal bb 8703,8130(any nonflip) to the flip. How do you like it? Is it just as functional?
    07-24-09 02:26 PM
    I've had mine a few days so far and I can at least give you the following feedback.

Had a curve (8330) for over a year and my thumbs started hurting real bad the last couple of months because I bent them too far back to type with the tip of my thumb or my thumb nail so I needed something else with bigger keys. Realizing there weren't really any other BBs with bigger buttons (atleast not big enough for me), I reluctantly looked at the flip because VZW had released it recently, after messing with it in the store for a few minutes I quickly realized how much I actually liked it.

After some research and a conversation with my doctor (yes I asked my doctor about my thumbs because I type for a living), it was clear I needed something I could type on quickly without hurting my thumbs, the flip was definitely the right choice. It is still very compact but the keys are plenty big and easy to type on.

To make this shorter, here are a list of pros and cons...

pros:
    - Easy to type on for fat thumb people, no more blackberry thumb!
    - Faster than the Curve (8330), I've tried most of the OS releases for the 8330 and none of them see to be as fast as the current 8230 with the 4.6.1.234 OS, it might just be that 4.6 is more efficient than 4.5
    - OS 4.6 is a delight and seems flawless so far, gets a little bogged down when you're running a lot of stuff, but seems better than my old curve
    - External door for micro sdhc card, SO much better than pulling that damn battery out for the curve
    - 2nd mini screen on the outside lets you do many things, preview messages, see currently playing music, I'm sure developers could find all kinds of fun stuff for this thing
    - clamshell design, love it