I work as a reporter and am considering the 8220. I sometimes have to record phone calls for interviews and was wondering if any knew if there’s software that enables one to record phone calls and save them as a file in the phone? Also, does anyone know if there’s software that can enable one to use the voice memo to record much longer – say, for 40 minutes or so (provided I insert a lot more memory). It would make an ideal back up recorder, if possible.
    01-11-09 06:01 AM
    sorry..from what I know...there is no phone convo recording..

im not sure about the longer recording
    01-11-09 10:36 PM
    I'm on my phone now and its too slow to look up online, but I think I remember seeing a program that records phone calls (at a hefty price), but many developers are against that because you need to inform the caller they are being recorded. Not sure about voice memo's. I never use the voice memo so I'm not sure what the limit is or if it can save it to the mem card. Even if it could, I don't know if it's set up to receive data and stream it to your card to save it. That would cause you a problem.

I can do some looking and see about the call recording a little later.

Honestly though, I don't think this is a good phone for a reporter. I would recommend a touch screen wm6 device or a arperstr ofs like the dell axin series. Windows mobile 6 has everything and a half, and if it isn't out, ask a developer nicely to make it and he can make it in a week or so and have it run smoothly after about a month.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    01-15-09 08:22 PM
    many developers are against that because you need to inform the caller they are being recorded.
    that is a load of BS.....why do other developers create it for Palm, WinMo, etc? and most "non-smart" phones then?
    01-15-09 10:02 PM
    Have you tried putting it on speaker phone and recording from there?

01-19-09 04:25 AM
    Yes. That doesn't really work well.