I'm trying to remove the IT Policy on an ebay phone and I did review the threads pertaining to this but...I cannot connect to the Desktop Manager because a "password box" keeps popping up and when I type in the current pswd it doesn't seem to recognize it? I can do this only 10 times and then the damn thing wipes for about 120 minutes.. I'm not a newbie but this thing is killing me. Please enlighten me on the magic bullet.

thanks all.
    08-29-09 02:09 AM
    Here, try using this program to reset your password and IT policy:

RIMGeeks.com • View topic - [Beta][8/18/09] BlackBerry Swiss Army Knife v1.5
    08-29-09 08:36 AM
    Thanks BigBadWulf!! I will keep that program handy. I have to say, it was about 2:00 AM this morning when I posted this thread out of shear exhaustion. I left the BB wiping last night and when I picked it up - instead of entering a password as it was requesting, I plugged it into PC and wala!! It connected. Since it had a 4.2 OS I wasn't successful with CrackUtil but I was able to upgrade the OS to 4.5. After that I used CrackUtil to disable the IT Policy. Now all I have to do is Call ma bell and get an Unlocking code so I can use it on my GSM network.

So I said all that to say this; If you buy a phone on ebay that has an IT Policy pswd lock and you have trouble connecting to Destop Manager, just set it to wipe and when the BB re-boots DO NO ENTER A PASSWORD at the prompt screen. Just leave it like that - you should be able to connect USB to PC without that annoying pop-up Password box coming up on your PC screen. Well anyway, it worked for me. Once that was fixed I can unlock the phone and downgrade my OS back to 4.2. The reason I like 4.2 is when I receive an incoming call - instead of having to press the far right "Green" pickup key - it pops up a screen prompt to "answer or ignore". I love this feature!! One hand operation.

Again, thanks BigBadWulf You are da Man!!(or da Wulf?) well U know...
    08-29-09 08:57 AM