ok so first off i am new to the blackberry world i do know somewhat what to do reprogaming and such i have followed the crackberry 101 on how to's and help. I have downloaded and installed the latest desktop manager and operating system for my blackberry pearl. It is connected and software seems to be working okay. I was given the pearl from a friend. I have unlocked it. My question is . . . I have inserted the sim card and I have the latest operating system running, the phone is unlocked but will not let me make or receive phone calls or text messages. It says SOS where the signal bar is. I have signed up with BES through AT & T, but my question is . .. Is there is anything else I need to do?

My phone won't make or receive calls or text messages !!!! ?????
    05-17-08 11:15 AM
    Turn the radio on....

05-17-08 11:41 AM
    How ya doin'? Does it work yet?
    05-17-08 12:02 PM
    Yup, try turning on the Wireless.
    05-17-08 02:03 PM
    yes the radio is on! iit tries to connect to the network the it says SOS where the strength bar is and has a blue blinking arrow in the top right coner
    05-17-08 04:29 PM
    ok i figured out sumthing that may have happend i did not delete the vendor file i deleted that an am no tring to reinstall a new os i have just used the JL_cmder to wip it i deleted the vendor file and am now reloading the OS
    05-17-08 04:32 PM
    nope didnt work samething sos up in corner with the blue blinking arrow
    05-17-08 05:09 PM
    I get the sos every now and then. Go outside, turn the device off and then back on.
    05-17-08 05:19 PM
    i only get the sos when i dont have signal.
    05-17-08 06:38 PM
    Try reseating the SIM card. Sometimes this helps. Check it's in the right way up.
    05-17-08 06:50 PM
    I used to have this happen all the time. I went in to the att store and they gave me a new sim. Have not had any problems since the sim swap. Oh and welcome to CB
    05-17-08 07:06 PM