I've only hade my 8130 for a couple of weeks now and I am just learning to send text messages, but I found out today that there seems to be a 160 space limit on a message??????? There is a #160 on top of the screen and when you hit a key the # goes down each time. Is this normal and can it be changed to be able to make a message longer?????? Or am i doing something wrong?????

Thanks in Advance.
    07-17-08 10:32 PM
    I've only hade my 8130 for a couple of weeks now and I am just learning to send text messages, but I found out today that there seems to be a 160 space limit on a message??????? There is a #160 on top of the screen and when you hit a key the # goes down each time. Is this normal and can it be changed to be able to make a message longer?????? Or am i doing something wrong?????

Thanks in Advance.
    Welcome to CB!!
    Yes, its normal and No, it cant be changed.
    07-17-08 10:59 PM
    Welcome to CB!

You may want to try IM or email.
    07-17-08 11:02 PM
    Thanks --- I'll figure this out sooner or later

Thanks Again
    07-17-08 11:10 PM
    Thanks --- I'll figure this out sooner or later

Thanks Again
    There's nothing to figure out regarding the character limit. That is set by the carrier. SMS= short messages. If you feel that you're going to be sending novels, then email is your friend.
    07-17-08 11:13 PM
    Compose your longer messages as MMS and there isn't a limit.
    07-17-08 11:25 PM
    I think by "figure it out" our newbie friend meant "Blackberry in general". (S)he indicated that the blackberry is just a couple of weeks old!

SMS=Short Message Service, you should just say less or use email!! :-)

Welcome to Crackberry.com, by the way!!

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    07-17-08 11:38 PM
    Compose your longer messages as MMS and there isn't a limit.
    The 8130 doesn't support MMS. Or is that just for the Sprint 8130?
    07-18-08 07:36 AM
    SMS = short message service!!