i am a BB newbie and need some real step by step directions on how to rip a dvd then convert it and send it to my BB. i have downloaded a few free programs and have been trying research which one i should use. I am getting a 8gb SDHC in the mail tomorrow so i really want to put some movies on it. I have downloaded DVD Shrink3.2, Mediacell BB Video converter, and Blackberry Video Creator from handango. I also have the Roxio which came with my phone. If someone who has had great success at downloading videos and watching them on their pearl please help me in this. I am very excited to try it but i want to do it right and now screw up my phone. Thanks in advance to anyone who can help me out.... Also does anyone know how many movies a 8gb card can hold? Thanks agaon
    01-11-08 10:23 PM
    What I do is this...... and I converted 50 samples to make sure I was getting the best quality for the size of file I wanted.

First off I use Roxio Media Creator to Rip my DvD to an DivX .avi file. You can use any program of your choice. There's a million different programs out there. Clone DvD Mobile is another program you might want to check out also. They have a full working 15 day trial. go to slysoft.com. (There are some free programs out there, not sure how good they are.)

Play with your settings within the converting application until your outcome will be a 700mb .avi movie file. Lowering the sound and video quality settings will shrink the movie.

Now go to Free Videos For Your BlackBerry | RIMarkable | The official, unofficial BlackBerry Weblog and download the free Blackberry Converter. Its a full working program and is offered free to blackberry users. If you go to mediaCell's home page to get the program, you will have to settle for a free trial.