I just bought a used Pearl 8130. What is the best procedure to wipe the previous users data from the phone and start fresh ? Should I just reload the OS ? I'm a relative newb to the BB scene. Please help. Any and all help appreciated.

Thanks.
    05-08-09 05:46 PM
    Best thing to do is to go to settings<options<security options<general settings<press the menu key adn then select wipe handheld. that will wipe the device and set it back to factory settings.
    05-08-09 06:15 PM
    Best thing to do is to go to settings<options<security options<general settings<press the menu key adn then select wipe handheld. that will wipe the device and set it back to factory settings.
    Sweet, just did that. Also I notice that the most current OS on the BB site is version 4.5.0.177 and the current OS on the Pearl is 4.3.0.66. Should I upgrade ? I have all the cables, what is the procedure ?

Again, thanks so much for the info.
    05-08-09 06:39 PM
    Sweet, just did that. Also I notice that the most current OS on the BB site is version 4.5.0.177 and the current OS on the Pearl is 4.3.0.66. Should I upgrade ? I have all the cables, what is the procedure ?

Again, thanks so much for the info.
    yes you should upgrade..go to the link i provided and it will answer all your questions

BlackBerry 101: How to Install or Upgrade to a New RIM BlackBerry Operating System (OS) | CrackBerry.com
    05-08-09 06:43 PM
    Yes, definantly upgrade to the 4.5 you will be happier......just follow the link in giantfan post and upgrade......let us know how it turns out.
    05-08-09 09:04 PM
    Welcome to crackberry! Check out the 101 lecture series found in my signature. It contains a lot of answers to FAQ's that newbies may have...
    05-08-09 09:26 PM
    OK, thanks for all your help. All problems resolved but what a story !!