I am still new at to the BB world, this is my file free at the moment 7172042 Bytes

I am wondering if this is in the good or bad range? My pearl isn't really running slow, just want to know so I can be a better BB owner lol.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    04-29-09 04:37 AM
    This is not very good.

Your phone has 48Mb memory and you need 12 for reliable daily running. You have 7.1.

You have a lack of memory problem. There are fixes. Go to Options, Status and note the File Free number. It's in bytes so divide by 1 million to get Mb. You need about 12Mb for good daily running or the BlackBerry will start deleting stuff just to keep itself running. 5.5Mb is an absolute minimum.

Note the File Free number for comparison later.
    Remove the battery for 30 secs or so and put it back. Once the re-boot is complete, check the file free number again.
    Go to Options, Advanced Options, Applications and scroll down to the BlackBerry Sample Video. Press Menu and select Delete. You just got 2Mb memory back. Again check the File Free number. It should be getting bigger.

Repeat this procedure to remove any unwanted extra languages. You may delete all you want and only reboot once to save time.

Have a look at this post too http://forums.crackberry.com/f3/how-...-memory-34633/. It is a very good tutorial on memory management.

Get familiar with your phone and come back here if you need more help.
    04-29-09 04:44 AM
    i think the biggest question is if your phone is acting up. is it lagging? is it deleting messages?

i've heard that with os 4.5, you can run on as low as 5 mb before the phone goes crazy, although i wouldn't let it get that low. i let mine hit 9-10mb before doing a battery pull, just to be on the safe side.

definitely take pete's advice and try to clear up any memory. any free memory is good or more room for other cool apps
    04-29-09 01:28 PM