When I tried to load some aftermarket applications from Handango onto my Sprint 8130, I got an error message. After a bit of research, I learned that I had to load "Device Software" onto my desktop in addition to Desktop Manager.

The software was located on RIM's blackberry.com website (I'd provide the URL, but as a new user I'm not allowed to until I have 10 posts) and it downloaded and installed just fine.

However, can someone explain the purpose of this additional software and why it is conspicuously absent in all of Sprint's literature?

You would think that loading 3rd party apps is a pretty standard activity and that Sprint would inform its users of the necessity of this software.

When I originally got the error message, I googled it and found a URL for a blog by a guy named Kelly Carter and his Pearl 8130 which described the problem and how to fix it. (Again, I'd provide the link, but as a newbie I'm not allowed to until I hit 10 posts.)

The fix worked great for me. I'm just curious as to why this is not included in the Sprint literature and why Sprint does not include a link to it on their support page for the 8130.

Maybe this is a question for Sprint, but I thought I'd start here because I have users to be more helpful than the service provider.
    02-19-08 07:27 PM
    i am doing this from verizon's site as we speak (waiting for it to download). try this link for sprint:

sprint blackberry downloads
    02-19-08 07:39 PM
    Yep, unfortunately I don't believe any of the carriers document or clarify that the Device Software(OS) is also necessary to be installed on the PC additionally to DM in order to load apps thru App Loader. Its documented only by RIM as dacur noted. This has caused much confusion & questions amongst folks new to the BB.
    02-19-08 07:49 PM