I installed Google Maps and like it much better than BB Maps. I am concerned about space and I was wondering if it would be OK to delete BB Maps.

If so, is there any way to get it back should I run into problems with Google Maps?

Thank you
    01-11-08 01:47 PM
    I installed Google Maps and like it much better than BB Maps. I am concerned about space and I was wondering if it would be OK to delete BB Maps.

If so, is there any way to get it back should I run into problems with Google Maps?

Thank you
    Just do a device back up prior. You can reload it via the DT Manager.
    01-11-08 02:07 PM
    Thanks.

This is my first time with the Desktop manager so please bare with me.

I clicked backup and restore but should I does press backup, or clicked the advanced and select just the maps?

If I should just select BB Maps I have a question because I see niether BB Maps or Google Maps, just map locations and map settings.
    01-11-08 03:04 PM
    In Desktop Manager, click on Application Loader. You will want to UNCHECK BlackBerry Maps. That will delete it from your device. Then press next or whatever.
    01-11-08 03:43 PM
    Thank you.

So I will be able to reload it if I choose?

Also, using the same way you describes, can I also remove ringtone and the standard pictures that came with the phone?

Edit: after trying this, the only app that shows up in my application loader is Google maps...nothing else.
    01-11-08 04:15 PM
    oh , do you see "BlackBerry Maps"?
    Last edited by jsanders; 01-11-08 at 04:21 PM.
    01-11-08 04:18 PM
    Do you have the OS that is on your handheld BB, also loaded to your PC?
    01-11-08 04:22 PM
    Nope, just Google.

I'm sorry, how do I check that?
    01-11-08 04:26 PM
    You probably don't, if you don't see anything in Application Loader.

On your BB, go to Options > About... the line with the v.,about third line down is the OS version.