So I'm a BB noob, trying to get the most out of my BB Pearl 8130 (Sprint). I have installed the BPhone theme, some Google Apps and I am using an Micro SD card for music, pics, etc. Couldn't be happier with the purchase.

Two days ago I ordered a car charger, holster and skin from the BlackBerry Source.com, based mainly on prices and selection of products available. I received the car charger yesterday, and tried it out today to make sure it worked. Plugged it in and the BB's charging icon appeared as expected, the same as I have seen when charging from home.

When I got home however and plugged in my BB, the charging icon would not display, leading me to believe that the home charger will no longer work for my BB. WTF says I. The site's not letting post a link, but the charger is called 'Blackberry Auto Charger'.

I searched some other threads for some similar cases and it sounds like there are some compatibility issues with voltage perhaps that may be in play here, but I can't imagine that the charger that came with the BB originally will no longer work? Has anyone else hit this or know what I need to do?

Thanks in advance for the help!
    03-19-08 09:23 PM
    If it wasn't a blackberry brand charger it could have messed up your phone. What is the brand ?

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    03-19-08 09:27 PM
    Good question, the packaging said Image was the brand name, but there wasn't much to it other than a plastic container it came in (which sadly is now in a dumpster).

The description on the site does not provide a brand name (which should have been an indicator of quality). Probably should have known that a generic charger might cause issues, but seems like very basic technology.

The only thing I can read from the side that may be useful is sticker that reads 'FOR mot V3/BB6510'.
    03-19-08 09:35 PM
    I've seen people on here mess up their blackberry using a motorola charger. Is your phone under warranty ?

03-19-08 09:39 PM