Hey,

New here and to the blackberry in general I have been putting of getting a blackberry as a college student I found it quite distracting while studying also I really did not want to break my contract with my cellphone provider.

But now as my contract is coming close to an end I would like to know which Blackberry you would prefer for general use, meaning surfing and documents and such and maybe a game thrown in once in a while. I have found two offers that are particularly good, one is for the Pearl Flip (29.99) for the phone and then a plan or the Pearl 8120 (25.00) both are on 3 year contracts.

I cant really afford any higher so the curve, bold and other what not is out of the park.

Also can I use the app store with the Flip? So which phone would be a better buy?

Thanks
    04-14-09 04:04 PM
    Depends on which form factor you want. I have the 8130 which is similar to the 8120 and I love it. Does everything I need it to including your uses mentioned in the post. Also, do you like flip phones in general? It's a newer device but I don't have any experience with the Flip.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    04-14-09 08:21 PM
    My carrier is CDMA so I could not get the flip, so I got the8130. Its my first smart phone AND my first non-flip. I love the compact size and its usefulness. About the only gripe I have is the memory issue, but a daily battery pull fixes that! Cruise this site for mor info on that. I believe the flip has a larger keypad and slightly larger screen then the pearls, and a slightly different (not sure if its BETTER or not, just different). Hope this helps!

04-14-09 08:37 PM
    I'm pretty sure that the flip has 96 mb, and the other pearl only has 64. So that's a big plus.. But I love my non flip pearl.. I've heard that the trackball on the flip is recessed further, which I would find annoying.. But with the right applications removed and the right ones installed, 64 mb is more than enough.