Ok, I'm a newbie, but I've searched & read for hours now about fixing my memory problems and upgrading my OS. I'm on vzw & I have the 8130, currently running the .77 OS. I only have a couple of small apps and do a battery pull every couple of days. I have done very basic memory recovery (del help, languages, etc) and my mem hovers around 15. Oh, and I put all media on my card. I'd like to run some more mem intensive apps, so I'm getting ready to take the plunge, as nervous as I am, and do a more intensive mem recover via my PC, so why not upgrade while I'm at it, right?

Ok, to the point, my questions are, does the .131 do the best job with mem stability of the versions available? is there anything I should know about using an OS set up for a different carrier, or will my berry just resend any info (see how tech advanced I am, ha), and the directions seem pretty straight forward, but I'm a nervous, if I back everything up its pretty safe right? I guess I need a little push

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    04-25-09 10:59 PM
    i run .77 os and i've had very few memory issues - till i downloaded the new facebook app that is. lol, but that aside, i deleted the following:

-voice activated dialing
    -verizon default theme
    -blackberry sample video
    -korean, chinese, japanese font/language support
    -help
    -brickbreaker
    -docs to go (don't use it)
    -password keeper
    -*edit* bbmaps

and in its place i run these apps
    -ubertwitter
    -crackberry app store application
    -slacker radio
    -aim
    -gtalk
    -google maps
    -bejewelled
    -vymail
    -facebook (1.2 was not quite the memory hog that 1.5 has proven to be)
    -hedone hawker's osx like theme

my memory would drop to about 12 or 13 mb by the end of the day, but nothing too terrible. (i also have all my media on a memory card, etc)