09-01-15 06:54 AM
61 123
tools
  1. whatsever's Avatar
    I have a Question for BlackBerry users? playing video with netflix is that only in 1:1 full screen. or is it adjustable? like to see a screenshot if it is adjustable in normal view

    The second question: playing netflix on TV with hdmi cable will that be normal width screen of also 1:1 ?


    I asking because kids like to watch there series on tv when we go out to friends, family or a hotel.
    10-12-14 02:19 PM
  2. sgt_snacks-64's Avatar
    As far as I know, using the android Netflix app. You can't / the phone can't change the aspect ratio when being thrown onto screen via HDMI

    Posted via CB10
    10-12-14 02:34 PM
  3. Dave Bourque's Avatar
    As far as I know, using the android Netflix app. You can't / the phone can't change the aspect ratio when being thrown onto screen via HDMI

    Posted via CB10
    I'm pretty sure you can switch aspect ratio to16:9 when connected via hdmi or miracast.

    Posted via CB10
    10-12-14 02:38 PM
  4. D3C0D3R's Avatar
    I created a similar thread wondering if/when it will be possible to actually change the aspect ratio of Android apps, allowing you to properly display and interact with your game/applications such as Netflix (1:1 doesn't work for video nowadays) and Clash of Clans (just doesn't work in 1:1 ratio, requires at least a 4:3 ratio though maybe something between that and a 16:9 would be ideal?)

    And you can sort of change between 16:9 and 1:1 the way the Netflix app works, but the 1:1 means fitting the picture from bottom left to top right and it gets VERY narrow when it's not supposed to be like that. The 16:9 then leaves it in native resolution but goes top to bottom so the sides are cut off. Not a major deal for some shows, but in a lot of them you'll miss major details :s

    Praise be unto our Lord Squircle | Passport SQW100-1/10.3.0.1154
    10-12-14 02:38 PM
  5. Jerlexis's Avatar
    I have Netflix via Snap and you get full screen video by default. No letterboxing.
    10-12-14 02:45 PM
  6. irweezyy's Avatar
    I'm pretty sure you can switch aspect ratio to16:9 when connected via hdmi or miracast.

    Posted via CB10
    I have tried and it does not work, the only way to get the video to display full screen on the TV is to use the play on feature however netflix does not give that feature. If someone knows a special trick I am all ears lol.

    I started using showbox a lot more now because it plays videos in the web browser which gives the playon feature.


    Posted via CB10
    10-12-14 02:48 PM
  7. whatsever's Avatar
    Mmmm that is bad because the kids really like to watch stuff upstairs before going to bed or just on a day with rain. Older people talk is no fun for kids.

    Still have to think to buy the Passport but support for BB is low and with android apps not a real problem but the 1:1 ratio could be a spoiler.
    10-12-14 03:00 PM
  8. irweezyy's Avatar
    Mmmm that is bad because the kids really like to watch stuff upstairs before going to bed or just on a day with rain. Older people talk is no fun for kids.

    Still have to think to buy the Passport but support for BB is low and with android apps not a real problem but the 1:1 ratio could be a spoiler.
    It doesn't bother me much since I download all my movies, so playon allows full screen through miracast.

    Netflix is the only one that doesn't allow it...yet, but hopefully they fix it sooon

    Posted via CB10
    10-12-14 03:16 PM
  9. konfuesious's Avatar
    How do I get the netflix app? Sorry, newbie here


    Posted via CB10
    10-12-14 03:22 PM
  10. ceckland's Avatar
    Streaming Netflix via Chromecast puts it in fullscreen on my TV.

    Posted via CB10
    10-12-14 03:39 PM
  11. calicocat2010's Avatar
    How do I get the netflix app? Sorry, newbie here

    Sideload Snap or 1mobile App. I can't remember if Amazon App has Netflix. A lot of users said they can't find their apps for the Passport or their apps aren't compatible to it yet.

    BUT researching for "How to" threads on this site is better.....

    Posted via CB10
    10-12-14 04:47 PM
  12. Nigelbrown's Avatar
    What version do you have that chrome cast still works?

    Posted via CB10
    10-12-14 05:59 PM
  13. robsteve's Avatar
    Netflix is in the Amazon app store. In the settings of Netflix it looks like a Passport specific version. I have don't have a slimport cable yet to test if it allows the Play On feature.


    Streaming Netflix on Passport-img_20141012_205404.png

    Posted via CB10
    positronio likes this.
    10-12-14 06:55 PM
  14. D3C0D3R's Avatar
    Netflix is in the Amazon app store. In the settings of Netflix it looks like a Passport specific version. I have don't have a slimport cable yet to test if it allows the Play On feature.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20141012_205404.png 
Views:	3985 
Size:	82.8 KB 
ID:	305548

    Posted via CB10
    I have the same here except I downloaded it via Snap the normal way as every other Android app I have :P


    Streaming Netflix on Passport-img_20141012_215526.png

    Praise be unto our Lord Squircle | Passport SQW100-1/10.3.0.1154
    10-12-14 08:57 PM
  15. robsteve's Avatar
    I have the same here except I downloaded it via Snap the normal way as every other Android app I have :P


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20141012_215526.png 
Views:	931 
Size:	39.0 KB 
ID:	305588

    Praise be unto our Lord Squircle | Passport SQW100-1/10.3.0.1154
    You have a different version,3.8 versus 3.7. Did you try it with a slimport cable attached to a tv?

    Posted via CB10
    10-13-14 11:21 AM
  16. irweezyy's Avatar
    Netflix is in the Amazon app store. In the settings of Netflix it looks like a Passport specific version. I have don't have a slimport cable yet to test if it allows the Play On feature.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20141012_205404.png 
Views:	3985 
Size:	82.8 KB 
ID:	305548

    Posted via CB10
    Can't find netflix in amazon app store! How did you fine it in there?

    Posted via CB10
    robsteve likes this.
    10-13-14 11:23 AM
  17. robsteve's Avatar
    Can't find netflix in amazon app store! How did you fine it in there?

    Posted via CB10
    It was in my purchased apps under cloud. I think it was there because I loaded it on my Z30 using the Amazon App store on the Z30.

    Posted via CB10
    10-13-14 11:42 AM
  18. D3C0D3R's Avatar
    You have a different version,3.8 versus 3.7. Did you try it with a slimport cable attached to a tv?

    Posted via CB10
    Unfortunately I don't have any Slimport cables so I haven't been able to try! I was just saying that you can use the official Netflix latest version and it's the same results in regards to the way it fits the screen and stuff :P

    Praise be unto our Lord Squircle | Passport SQW100-1/10.3.0.1154
    10-13-14 01:02 PM
  19. dejanh's Avatar
    If you use a Slimport cable you will get the right output resolution as you are using HDMI. Downside is unfortunately that you can't do it wirelessly then. Up side is that the quality is ten times better via HDMI than via Miracast.

    Overall, cabled connection wins hands down.

    Posted via CB10
    10-13-14 03:35 PM
  20. irweezyy's Avatar
    If you use a Slimport cable you will get the right output resolution as you are using HDMI. Downside is unfortunately that you can't do it wirelessly then. Up side is that the quality is ten times better via HDMI than via Miracast.

    Overall, cabled connection wins hands down.

    Posted via CB10
    Have you actually tried this?

    Just to be clear, do you mean to say that if I use slim port, I will get full 16:9 picture on my TV??

    I have not tried slim port but figured it was no different than micro hdmi and the q10. When I used netflix on q10 and connected to TV with micro hdmi, I would get a small square screen on my TV with a small 16:9 image inside the square, from there I would zoom using TV settings to stretch out the image but it would never fit the entire screen

    Posted via CB10
    10-13-14 05:17 PM
  21. trevorcroft's Avatar
    I'm pretty sure you can switch aspect ratio to16:9 when connected via hdmi or miracast.

    Posted via CB10
    I have been unsuccessful in doing so on the Q10.

    Blackberry REALLY needs a box you can drag around and resize that matches the aspect ratio of the device you're outputting to.

    Posted via CB10
    10-14-14 10:43 AM
  22. dejanh's Avatar
    Have you actually tried this?

    Just to be clear, do you mean to say that if I use slim port, I will get full 16:9 picture on my TV??

    I have not tried slim port but figured it was no different than micro hdmi and the q10. When I used netflix on q10 and connected to TV with micro hdmi, I would get a small square screen on my TV with a small 16:9 image inside the square, from there I would zoom using TV settings to stretch out the image but it would never fit the entire screen

    Posted via CB10
    When you're using HDMI you can adjust the resolution and aspect ratio under the display settings. This has worked for me in the past. I haven't tried it yet on the Passport as I'm still waiting for my Slimport cable.
    Streaming Netflix on Passport-img_20141014_085104.png

    Posted via CB10
    10-14-14 10:52 AM
  23. unleash the Z's Avatar
    I have a slim port and I still don't get a full tv screen. I watch show box and netflix. I stretch out the pic on tv but still don't get full screen My z30 gets full screen on both

    Posted via CB10
    10-14-14 12:08 PM
  24. ilperez1806's Avatar
    Don't have a problem on the z30 and just to show off at work I'll use a bluetooth mouse and keyboard connect it to the TV thru hdmi and use my phone as a laptop

    Posted via CB10
    D3C0D3R likes this.
    10-14-14 12:28 PM
  25. irweezyy's Avatar
    I have a slim port and I still don't get a full tv screen. I watch show box and netflix. I stretch out the pic on tv but still don't get full screen My z30 gets full screen on both

    Posted via CB10
    This is what I expected, it functions just as the q10 did.

    Using hdmi or slimport simply mirrors the phone screen to the TV, when using the playon feature it converts to sent 16:9 video to the monitor, but without the playon it just mirrors the phone.

    Thanks for clarifying.

    Posted via CB10
    10-14-14 05:14 PM
61 123

Similar Threads

  1. Gecko case for Passport: another near miss
    By shakingthrough in forum BlackBerry Passport
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-26-14, 06:46 PM
  2. Email issue: random contacts appear on CC
    By rosemary quaye in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-18-14, 06:20 PM
  3. wanT Google Play Access On Z10
    By maYur_O7 in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-18-14, 07:42 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-18-14, 07:39 AM
  5. Passport Android Crash
    By crackberryrob in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-18-14, 07:34 AM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD