How long are these good for? With a larger storage card I am accumulating a lot of pictures and videos. Backing up can be time consuming. How long will the cards last?

Posted via CB10
    05-05-16 07:29 PM
    SD Cards last a long time ... until damaged.
    Backup of your data, pictures and videos is a must if they are of value to you.
    05-05-16 09:50 PM
    I have seveal cards I have been using daily for over 3 years with no problems, however I do ALWAYS keep backups.
    05-06-16 01:28 AM
    SD card is so useful especially for music library nevertheless I advise to back-up storage thru USB OTG

Posted via CB10
    05-06-16 01:58 AM
    Half the SD cards I bought in the past died and took the data with them to the grave. The ones that died did so in less than a year. One kicked the bucked in two months worth of very light use. It has been my experience that the SD cards are the second most unreliable computer components (after Seagate and Wester Digital HDDs).

I've switched to Samsung SDs some time ago. I've had zero failures since.

"The world is inhabited by those who back up and those who will back up"
    05-06-16 05:47 AM
    The critical measurand is the number of writes of a concrete single data bit. This number is limited to some (ten) thousands. If you mostly read your data you can use an SD card for years (or even decades) until the contacts are corroded. Read access doesn't harm at all. If you have many writes and you can dispatch them over locations on the entire disk it will also be no problem for a long time. This is the case when you fill the SD card without deleting data. A problem could be when you write onto the same location (the beginning of the data space) again and again. This can happen when you tend to clean up the space on the SD card.

I would say a modern SD card with typical use will last until the end of your device, even when you write everyday on it. Don't defragment it.
    05-06-16 07:21 AM