So I stopped by my local att to see the new phone, as I am considering it for down the road... first nice surprise, not only did they have the phone and also a classic, they were displayed prominently right up front with a big display. Nice to see BlackBerry front and center again.

Back to the Priv... I've never used android before:

Positives: nice looking device, good size, display looked great. Moving around the device seems easy enough. Browser seemed quicker and "snappier" than on my passport

Negatives (in my opinion) : keyboard.... awfully small... keys seemed squished together. Honestly, it looked more like a "Typo" keyboard, not a BlackBerry keyboard. I'm not basing this off the passport, but compared to even my q10 or even my old Bold. Having the Classic there with a "real keyboard " didn't help.

Didn't really care for the new hub layout, I assume with familiarity I would like it more. I also really missed the gesture controls of b?b10 to move around the device. Last thing and I this is probably more due to not knowing the Android system, but whenever I wanted to move into some sort of writing function whether it be an email or something more productivity related like a document it seemed like there were always extra steps to get started.

I only spent about 10-15 minutes with the Priv which is obviously not enough time, but my overall impression was "ehh", not the "wow" I was hoping for, not like it was the first time I used a Passport. In the end... I'm hoping BlackBerry doesn't completely abandon OS10 and keeps providing some support because I'm really liking the way the silver edition looks...

on the road with my BlackBerry
    BerryRipe likes this.
    11-11-15 11:59 PM
    I stopped by AT&T a few days ago..
    I am very familiar with Android and have owned previously and I still carry an Android phone with me, but to me Passport is a lot more superior.
    I have a Nexus phone running Marshmallow but it is nothing compared to BB10 OS.